Skip to main content

*Due to COVID-19, DDW was not held in 2020.*

Bethesda, MD (Feb. 4, 2020) — The American Gastroenterological Association (AGA) has announced the 2020 recipients of the annual recognition prizes, given in honor of outstanding contributions and achievements in gastroenterology. 

“AGA Recognition Prizes allow members to honor their colleagues and peers for outstanding contributions to the field of gastroenterology,” said Hashem B. El-Serag, MD, MPH, AGAF, president of the AGA Institute. “The 2020 AGA Recognition Prize winners are just a few of the distinguished and talented members who help make AGA such an accomplished organization. We are honored that such esteemed individuals are representatives of AGA.”

The AGA Recognition Prizes will be presented during Digestive Disease Week® 2020, May 1-5, 2020, in Chicago, Illinois.


Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science

AGA recognizes R. Balfour Sartor, MD, with the AGA Distinguished Achievement Award in Basic Science, for his major accomplishments in basic science research, which have significantly contributed to the understanding of the pathogenesis of inflammatory bowel diseases (IBD). Dr. Sartor’s seminal observations throughout his career helped launch the area of inquiry that led to the recognition that the microbiome is a key to metabolic disease, IBD, intestinal neoplasia and hepatic disorders. Dr. Sartor is the Margaret W. and Lorimer W. Midgett Distinguished Professor and a professor, departments of medicine, microbiology and immunology, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill.

Comments are closed.